SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 454

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize First State Bank of Ben Wheeler on the grand occasion of its 100th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Deeply rooted in the communities of Van Zandt County, First State Bank was founded in 1911 by 13 local businessmen; it has been locally owned and operated since then; after serving as president of the bank for 28 years, Randal Clayton now serves as chairman of its board of directors; Chet Clayton serves as bank president; and

WHEREAS, For many years, the main bank in Ben Wheeler was in "old downtown"; the bank moved to its present location on Highway 64 in 1999; the bank's first branch, located in Edom, opened in 1987 and was the first branch bank in Van Zandt County; the Canton branch opened in 2001, and the Edgewood branch opened in 2009; and

WHEREAS, Over the last 100 years, the bank has continued to thrive as a valuable institution for Van Zandt citizens; the bank offers superior customer service in a hometown atmosphere; banking is conducted on a personal level with a friendly staff ready to meet the needs of bank customers; and

WHEREAS, Under the outstanding leadership of its well-experienced officers and its board of directors, First State Bank of Ben Wheeler is a full-service financial establishment offering personal service and modern banking convenience to the community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to First State Bank of Ben Wheeler on its 100th anniversary and extend to all associated with the bank best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the bank as an expression of regard from the Texas Senate.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 9, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate