SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 467

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize SafeHaven of Tarrant County on the occasion of its annual Legacy of Men Breakfast in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Formed in 2006 through the merger of Women's Haven and the Women's Shelter, SafeHaven provides two emergency shelters for victims of domestic abuse and operates several specialized programs designed to provide transitional living assistance, child victim aid and therapy, and education and prevention services; and

WHEREAS, SafeHaven started the Legacy of Men Breakfast in 2009 as a way to engage and mobilize men to take a proactive role in ending domestic violence; funds raised from the breakfast support the organization's efforts to work with young men in order to break the cycle of violence before it begins; and

WHEREAS, This year's Legacy of Men Breakfast honoree is David Russell, whose advocacy for victims of domestic violence has made a real difference and set a positive example for corporate America; he serves as a public spokesperson for the Verizon Foundation on the subject of domestic violence, and he has played a vital part in securing the investment of \$300,000 to fund agencies that work to end domestic violence; and

WHEREAS, SafeHaven's mission is to end domestic violence through safety, support, prevention, and social change; the organization is a tremendous asset to the citizens of Tarrant County and to this state and is truly deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby honor SafeHaven of Tarrant County on the occasion of its 2011 Legacy of Men Breakfast and extend to all associated with the event and the organization best wishes as they continue in their noble efforts; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 9, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate