## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 480

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Bob Bullock Scholars Program of Baylor University and this year's participants in the program; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2000 to honor the memory of Lieutenant Governor Bob Bullock, this exemplary program promotes the study of politics by Baylor University students; and

WHEREAS, Each student in the program works for a member of the House or Senate on a full-time basis during the legislative session to learn firsthand about the political structure of Texas government; the Bob Bullock Scholars Program is an outstanding opportunity for those who seek to serve others through a career in public service; and

WHEREAS, Dr. James A. Curry, the Bob Bullock Professor of Public Policy and Administration at Baylor University, has served as the director of the program since its inception; and

WHEREAS, There are 10 Bob Bullock Scholars participating in the 2011 Session of the Texas Legislature: Megan Atchley with Representative Senfronia Thompson, Sarah Caldwell with Senator Jane Nelson, Amanda Gonzalez with Senator Robert Duncan, Emily Hemphill Representative Diane Patrick, Kincaid with Sara with Representative Mark Strama, Courtney Lewis with Senator Royce West, Ashleigh Myers with Senator Kel Seliger, Meaghan Nowell with Representative Craig Eiland, Jennifer Stanley with Representative Burt Solomons, and Allison Winney with Speaker Joe Straus; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 480

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby pay tribute to Baylor University's Bob Bullock Scholars Program and commend this year's scholars for their participation in their state's governmental process; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the participants in this program as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

> Seliger, Birdwell, Duncan, Nelson, West

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 15, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate