SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 495

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Canyon High School Lady Eagles basketball team, which recently won the Class 4A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Eagles won their 15th state championship by defeating the Lady Jaguars of Austin's Lyndon B. Johnson High School by a score of 44-39; and

WHEREAS, Ranked number one in the state since the beginning of the season, these young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the year, finishing with a perfect record of 38-0; team members Candace Herrera, Shayla Monreal, Shawna Monreal, Nicole Hampton, Madison Russ, Taylor Macklin, Rhailee Sides, Honesty Sullivan, Morgan Dean, Kyndal Davis, Madason Johnson, Macy Myrick, Ashton Pedigo, Madison Parker, and Courtney Erwin can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Joe Lombard, and with the valuable aid of assistant coaches Johnny Hampton and Bryan Lintner, the Lady Eagles have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Canyon High School and the citizens of Canyon are proud of the Lady Eagles for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the Canyon High School Lady Eagles basketball team on its exceptional season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the Class 4A state championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 14, 2011.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate