SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 524

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pride in recognizing Dr. Alda T. Benavides, superintendent of La Joya Independent School District, who recently was named Distinguished Bilingual Educator of the Year by the Rio Grande Valley-Texas Association for Bilingual Educators; and
WHEREAS, She was chosen for the award due to her many contributions to the district's Bilingual Education Program and

WHEREAS, She was chosen for the award due to her many contributions to the district's Bilingual Education Program and her consistent emphasis on the importance of a bilingual education; in addition, she attends second language learning conferences and is an active member of the Rio Grande Valley-Texas Association for Bilingual Educators; and

WHEREAS, Recognized as an outstanding leader by her peers and the educational community, Dr. Benavides sets a determined course in the pursuit of excellence, and she works hard to help the district's students find success in their schooling; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary superintendent, Dr. Benavides stresses open communication and fosters a positive school ambience; she believes that if students succeed in learning two languages, their self-esteem will grow, and they will be more marketable for future educational endeavors and in the workplace; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Benavides's distinguished leadership has played a major role in making La Joya Independent School District the exceptional school system it is today; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Alda T. Benavides on her notable accomplishments and extend congratulations to her on earning the title of Distinguished Bilingual Educator of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 16, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate