SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 530

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize John D. Eckstrum, who has been named Realtor of the Year by the Texas Association of Realtors; and

WHEREAS, This honor recognizes a member of the association who has over the last 10 years made outstanding contributions to the real estate industry through involvement in the national, state, and local real estate associations; and

WHEREAS, John Eckstrum is a partner in First Group in Conroe; he began his career in real estate in 1966, and he and a partner formed First Realty of Texas in 1974; they later expanded the business to become First Group; Mr. Eckstrum has held many leadership positions and committee assignments in real estate associations at the local, state, and national levels, and he currently serves as chairman of the Texas Real Estate Commission; and

WHEREAS, He has been a dedicated civic leader in the Conroe community for the last 37 years; he has worked closely with the Conroe-Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce and is a life member and vice president of the Montgomery County Fair Association; he is also active with and past president of the Conroe Jaycees, and he founded their Youth Football League and served as commissioner of the league for 10 years; and

of the league for 10 years; and WHEREAS, John Eckstrum has made many contributions to the real estate profession and to his community; a proven leader, he has received numerous honors and awards over the years, and he is most deserving of being named Realtor of the Year; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend John D. Eckstrum for his many exceptional achievements and extend to him congratulations on being named Realtor of the Year by the Texas Association of Realtors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 17, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate