SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 569

In Memory of Kyle Matthew Holder

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Private First Class Kyle Matthew Holder, who died November 17, 2010, at the age of 18 while serving his country in Afghanistan; and

WHEREAS, Born and raised in The Woodlands, Kyle graduated from The Woodlands High School in 2010 and joined the United States Army; he completed basic training at Fort Benning, Georgia, in September; and

WHEREAS, He was an infantry soldier assigned to the 1st Squadron, 38th Cavalry Regiment, 525th Battlefield Surveillance Brigade, XVIII Airborne Corps, Fort Bragg, North Carolina; a man of courage, strength, and devotion, Kyle was serving in a foreign land during a time of extreme danger when he made the ultimate sacrifice for his country; and

WHEREAS, Private First Class Holder received the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, and the Army Service Ribbon; he was posthumously awarded the Army Commendation Medal, the Army Good Conduct Medal, the Afghanistan Campaign Medal, and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Medal; and

WHEREAS, Kyle Holder was a young man with a pure heart and deep convictions whose unwavering resolve and selfless courage embodied the highest ideals of the armed services; he will be deeply missed by his family and all who were privileged to know this exemplary patriot; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 569

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the life of Private First Class Kyle Matthew Holder and extend sincere condolences to his bereaved family; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Kyle Matthew Holder.

Williams

Birdwell Harris Carona Hegar Davis Hinojosa Deuell Huffman Duncan Jackson Ellis Lucio Eltife Nelson Estes Nichols Fraser Ogden Gallegos Patrick

Rodriguez Seliger Shapiro Uresti Van de Putte Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 22, 2011, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate