SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 639

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Sergeant Robert E. O'Malley for his exemplary service to the nation as a member of the United States Marine Corps during the Vietnam War; and

WHEREAS, The Vietnam War was one of the longest military conflicts in United States history; more than three million Americans served in Southeast Asia during the war, with more than 58,000 making the ultimate sacrifice, including more than 3,400 Texans; and

WHEREAS, Sergeant O'Malley distinguished himself during this conflict through his exemplary courage while leading an assault against a strongly entrenched enemy force; with complete disregard for his personal safety, he crossed an open area in the face of determined enemy fire to engage at close range, and even while wounded, he went on to defend his position until all his injured comrades were evacuated; he was awarded the Medal of Honor for his conspicuous gallantry above and beyond the call of duty; and

WHEREAS, The men and women who served the nation during the Vietnam War embodied the highest standards of courage, sacrifice, and devotion to duty, and Sergeant O'Malley's heroic actions set a lasting example that will live forever in the annals of American history; and

WHEREAS, It is truly fitting that this brave man be recognized for his patriotism and his service on behalf of the nation as Texans across the state observe Vietnam Veterans Day; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 639

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Sergeant Robert E. O'Malley on his extraordinary service to the nation during the Vietnam War and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of gratitude and high regard from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

Rodriguez

Wentworth

Whitmire

Williams Zaffirini

Seliger

Shapiro

Uresti

Watson

West

Birdwell	Harris
Carona	Hegar
Davis	Hinojosa
Deuell	Huffman
Duncan	Jackson
Ellis	Lucio
Eltife	Nelson
Estes	Nichols
Fraser	Ogden
Gallegos	Patrick

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 28, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate