## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 707

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Brandon Allen, Kelsey Bruce, Haley Hale, Ayland Letsinger, and Josh Smith for their outstanding achievements as student-athletes for Brackett High School in Brackettville; and

WHEREAS, These young men and women have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of their high school careers, displaying the great intellectual curiosity required to succeed as students combined with the hard work and discipline necessary to excel at athletics; and

WHEREAS, They have shown exceptional teamwork and leadership while representing the Brackett Independent School District at various University Interscholastic League competitions; and

WHEREAS, Brandon Allen, Ayland Letsinger, and Josh Smith were named to the 2010 Academic All-State Football Team by the Texas High School Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, Kelsey Bruce and Haley Hale were named to the 2010 Academic All-State Cross Country Team by the Texas Girls Coaches Association; Kelsey adds this honor to an impressive career that includes more than 20 wins at invitational meets and the district's first cross country state championship title; she is also the school's first female athlete to win a state championship; and

WHEREAS, These young student-athletes have represented their school and their community with grace and strength, and they are truly deserving of recognition for their hard work and determination; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Brandon Allen, Kelsey Bruce, Haley Hale, Ayland Letsinger, and Josh Smith on their commitment and dedication and extend to them best wishes for continued success in all their affairs; and, be it further

in all their affairs; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate