SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 729

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the West Oso High School Bears boys' basketball team, which recently won the 2011 Class 3A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Bears claimed their first state championship by defeating Burkburnett High School by a score of 61-57 in a game that saw them come from behind in the final two minutes to secure their victory; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the year, ending the season with a record of 35-3; team members LaDaniel Marshall, Robert Watson, Willie Harper, Raymond Robinson, Brandon Scott, Andrew Lopez, Chantze Avery, Keith Thompson, William Enriquez, Brandon Grant, Davon Fox, and Jerome Blankenship can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Arnold Flores and assistant coach Karl Turk, and with the aid of assistants Wendell Avery, Anthony Odom, Joe Sanchez, and David Zapien, managers Javier Delgado and Kourtney Thompson, statistician Ramiro Castro, and trainer Andrea Acuna, the Bears have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and WHEREAS, West Oso High School and the City of Corpus Christi are proud of the Bears for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the West Oso High School Bears boys' basketball team on its outstanding season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the Class 3A state championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate