SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 742

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Tech University School of Law moot court team, which recently won the 61st Annual National Moot Court Competition championship; and

WHEREAS, The oldest and most prestigious moot court competition in the world, this influential event is administered by the New York City Bar Association's Young Lawyers Division and cosponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers; and

WHEREAS, After defeating the team from the South Texas College of Law in the Texas-Oklahoma regional final, the Texas Tech University team went unbeaten in the preliminary rounds of the national competition and earned the number one seed before defeating the team from the University of Tennessee College of Law in the final round; and

WHEREAS, Team members Alexis Butler, Daniel Durell, and Jason Jordan can take great pride in their outstanding performance; coach and director of advocacy programs Robert Sherwin played an important role in helping the team prepare for this intense competition; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Tech University School of Law moot court team competed against some of the top law schools in the nation to win this important championship, and it is truly deserving of recognition for this impressive achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the Texas Tech University School of Law moot court team on its hard work and dedication and extend congratulations to its members on winning the 61st Annual National Moot Court Competition championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Duncan

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 26, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate