SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 812

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Thomasene Sweeney Norton for her outstanding citizenship and her service to her community; and

WHEREAS, Thomasene Sweeney Norton is a native Texan and a beloved and respected citizen of Itasca; born in 1929, she has lived in Oklahoma, Louisiana, and North Africa; she lived in Libya until being evacuated in 1967, and she returned to Itasca when her husband retired in 1969; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Norton served on the Itasca City Council for 12 years, including serving as mayor pro tempore; she was a member of the Itasca Garden Club and served as an advisor for many years for Mai Kai, a group for young women in high school that works to encourage them in their endeavors; and

WHEREAS, She has always tried to ensure that everyone is treated with respect, and she has worked diligently for those less fortunate and stood up courageously for those who have been mistreated; she has served as a mentor to many in her community, and she has been active in numerous service projects and charitable events; she volunteered for the Meals on Wheels program well past her 70th birthday; and

WHEREAS, A woman of much charm and grace, Thomasene Norton has served the citizens of Itasca, Grandview, Covington, and Hillsboro and other communities throughout Hill County with perseverance and dedication; she is an excellent representative of this state and nation, and she is indeed worthy of special recognition; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Thomasene Sweeney Norton for her exemplary service and her many contributions to her community and extend to her best wishes for the future; and, be it further

extend to her best wishes for the future; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression high regard from the Texas Senate.

Davis

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2011.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate