SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 813

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to congratulate Govind Nadkarni, P.E., on being named vice president for the Southern Zone of the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying and to welcome members of the group to Austin for their annual meeting; and

WHEREAS, The National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing professional licensure for engineers and surveyors, facilitating professional mobility, and promoting uniformity of the licensure process; and

WHEREAS, Members of the council represent boards from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands; Govind Nadkarni, P.E., was elected to serve as vice president for the Southern Zone in 2009; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Nadkarni received a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from Gujarat University in India and a master's degree from the University of Southern California; he established Govind and Associates, Incorporated, a civil, structural, survey, and marine design services company, in 1984; he started Govind Development in 2009, and it has grown to 55 employees; and

WHEREAS, For many years, Mr. Nadkarni has provided his expertise to a variety of professional associations and cultural, humanitarian, and technical groups; he served as chairman of the Texas Board of Professional Engineers from 2006 to 2008, and he has served as a mentor to numerous young engineers; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Govind Nadkarni, P.E., for his many contributions to the field of engineering and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 20, 2011.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate