SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 824

WHEREAS, Under the outstanding leadership of eight-year head coach Gary Blair, the Texas A&M University women's basketball team made history by winning its first National Collegiate Athletic Association national championship; and

WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University women's basketball team finished its season with an impressive 33-5 record—the most wins in program history—and achieved a 13-3 record in the Big 12; their achievements included going to the National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament and defeating number one seed Baylor in the Elite Eight in Dallas and number one seed Stanford in the Final Four in Indianapolis on their way to defeating Notre Dame in the national championship finals by a score of 76-70; and WHEREAS, Several of the players have achieved

WHEREAS, Several of the players have achieved extraordinary honors for their efforts, including senior Danielle Adams, named as Texas A&M University's first Associated Press First Team All-American, and senior Sydney Colson, named as an Associated Press All-American Honorable Mention; Danielle Adams was also selected to the 2011 NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Basketball Team, and junior Tyra White achieved a State Farm Coaches' All-America Team Honorable Mention; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Texas A&M University coaching staff, including head coach Gary Blair, associate head coach Vic Schaefer, associate head coach Kelly Bond, and assistant coach Johnnie Harris, have represented themselves and Texas A&M University admirably and with great distinction and have motivated and inspired the women's basketball team to conduct themselves with excellence, honor, and integrity--both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, The Aggie women's basketball team, in winning its first National Collegiate Athletic Association national championship and bringing the much-coveted championship trophy to Texas A&M University has inspired enormous admiration and respect for women's athletics at the university; and

WHEREAS, The Texas A&M women's basketball team has brought tremendous positive national attention to Texas A&M University and to the great State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Coach Gary Blair, winner of numerous coaching honors and one of the most highly respected and winningest active Division I coaches in the women's game today, completely turned around the Aggie women's basketball program since his appointment as head coach in 2003, taking the team to a record six straight National Collegiate Athletic Association tournaments and capturing the 2011 national championship; and

WHEREAS, The hard work and dedication to excellence of the women's basketball team and its coaches have led to a history-making year that will be remembered and celebrated by Aggies and others forever; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby honor Coach Gary Blair and the Texas A&M University women's basketball team on their outstanding achievements and extend to them best wishes for the future; and be it further

S.R. No. 824

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Coach Gary Blair and the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ogden, Hegar Wentworth, Williams

Birdwell Carona Davis Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes	Gallegos Harris Hinojosa Huffman Jackson Lucio Nelson Nichols	Rodriguez Seliger Shapiro Uresti Van de Putte Watson West Whitmire
Estes Fraser	Nichols Patrick	Whitmire Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
	President of the Senate
	I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 26, 2011.
	Secretary of the Senate