SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 838

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Marisela and Robert Higgins, who have been selected by Junior Achievement of Laredo for induction into the 2011 Laredo Business Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Higgins have for nearly 20 years played an important role in the Laredo community through their involvement with a variety of business ventures; and

WHEREAS, Following a musical career that saw him play and record with such noted groups as Les Brown and His Band of Renown, Mr. Higgins entered the field of investment banking; after a successful tenure with Denny's, Incorporated, in Mexico and Japan, he came to Laredo, where he helped build a thriving chain of El Pollo Loco restaurants; and

WHEREAS, Drawing on her entrepreneurial spirit, Mrs. Higgins recognized the potential of a business model new to the area and created Studio 55, a spa that has served more than 36,000 clients since it opened; it has distinguished itself through its commitment to rigorous standards of sanitation and hygiene and has expanded twice to meet customer demand over the course of 13 years; and

WHEREAS, Marisela and Robert Higgins have served as leaders in the Laredo business community, and it is truly fitting that they receive this exceptional honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Marisela and Robert Higgins for their outstanding accomplishments and for their exemplary service on behalf of the residents of Laredo and extend to them congratulations on their induction into the 2011 Laredo Business Hall of Fame; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt for} \ {\tt them} \ {\tt as} \ {\tt an} \ {\tt expression} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt esteem} \ {\tt from} \ {\tt the} \ {\tt Texas} \ {\tt Senate}.$

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 26, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate