## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 870

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Grupo Fantasma, which recently won its first Grammy Award; and

WHEREAS, This exceptional band won the award for Best Latin Rock, Alternative, or Urban Album for its latest release, *El Existential*, which tightly weaves Anglo, Afro, and Latin musical genres to create a sound of its own; and

WHEREAS, Known for its high-energy live performances, Grupo Fantasma consists of Adrian Quesada, Beto Martinez, Gilbert Elorreaga, Greg Gonzalez, Jose Galeano, Josh Levy, Rodolfo "Kino" Esparza, Mark "Speedy" Gonzales, and Matthew "Sweet Lou" Holmes; these skilled musicians produced their award-winning album themselves; and

WHEREAS, In creating their distinct sound, they draw on a wide array of musical influences, including cumbia, salsa, funk, and reggae; and

WHEREAS, Grupo Fantasma has since 2000 delighted audiences with its creativity, its vibrant fusion of genres, and its unique sound, and it is truly deserving of recognition for winning this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Grupo Fantasma on its record of success and extend congratulations to its members on winning their first Grammy Award; and, be it further

1

S.R. No. 870

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this outstanding band as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini, Ogden Watson, Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 28, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate