SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 874

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the boys' basketball team from Justin Ford Kimball High School in Dallas, who recently won the 2011 University Interscholastic League Class 4A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Kimball Knights defeated the LaMarque Cougars 78-64 to win the school's fourth state title in a game that saw them hold off a furious comeback rally by the Cougars in the second half; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 38-3 record; team members Gabriel Lilly, David Tucker, Shannon Lilly, Austin Franklin, Ryan Daniels, Oscar Lewis, Jarion Henry, Courtney Bouknight, Jalen Jones, Jordon Adams, Jordan Williams, D'Angelo Allen, Nicholas Murrell, Randelle Jones, Kelvin Kizzee II, and Dondre Carter can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Royce Johnson and assistant coaches Ryan Foppe, Robert Jacobs, Bo Johnson, and Toby Daniels and with the support of trainer Brian Welch and scorekeeper Montonya Jackson, the Knights have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Kimball High School and the City of Dallas are proud of the Knights for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the Dallas Kimball Knights on their successful season and congratulate them on winning the boys' Class 4A state basketball championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate