SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 878

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the recipients of the Texas Environmental Excellence Awards, which are being presented May 4, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by a blue-ribbon committee and selected by the Office of the Governor and the commissioners of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, these award-winning Texans are honored for their dedicated efforts to protect and conserve our state's natural resources; they are involved in small and large businesses, government, and individual citizenship, and they have voluntarily endeavored to preserve our state's natural resources by preventing pollution, minimizing waste, conserving water, reducing energy consumption, and protecting wildlife; and

WHEREAS, The 2011 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards recipients include Harlingen Irrigation District Cameron County Number 1; the Valley Proud Environmental Council, Harlingen; Mr. David Baker, Wimberley; the San Antonio Water System; the United States Army Fort Bliss Directorate of Public Works, El Paso; Union Pacific Railroad; Fulton 4-5 Learning Center; and the North Texas Municipal Water District; and

WHEREAS, These winners are also sharing their knowledge, technology, and expertise to educate Texans as to how they may protect the environment in their communities, and their leadership will prove vital in preserving our state's natural resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it

resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby recognize May 4, 2011, as Texas Environmental Excellence Awards Day at the State Capitol and commend the award recipients for their exemplary efforts on behalf of the Lone Star State; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for each winner as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Fraser

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate