SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 889

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pride in recognizing the devotion and sacrifice of the members of the United States military who so honorably serve our country; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Senate is most honored to pay special tribute to those forces who, over the last decade, have been committed to the War on Terrorism and the search for the notorious Al Qaeda leader, Osama Bin Laden; and

WHEREAS, It is due to the steadfast commitment of the American government and the courage and skill of our military troops that the world today can rejoice in the greater security and safety brought about by the successful military action against this terrorist organization and its leader, who was responsible for the murder of nearly 3,000 innocent American civilians on September 11, 2001; and

WHEREAS, Texans have accounted for a significant number of the many military men and women who have been deployed since 2001 to Afghanistan and Iraq, and many of these service members have lost their lives or been wounded in the conflicts that have ensued over these long years; and

WHEREAS, Those who planned and participated in the operation that was carried out in Pakistan against Osama Bin Laden deserve the highest of praise for the extraordinary valor and expertise which they exhibited during this challenging mission; to their tremendous credit, their heroic actions will live forever in the annals of American history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the military forces who have made extraordinary sacrifices to serve our state and nation and pay highest tribute to those incredibly brave individuals who participated in this successful mission; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in recognition of this milestone in the ongoing effort to combat worldwide terrorism.

| | | Van de Putte Williams |
|--|--|---|
| Birdwell Carona Davis Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos | Harris Hegar Hinojosa Huffman Jackson Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden | Patrick Rodriguez Seliger Shapiro Uresti Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Zaffirini |

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 2, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate