## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 913

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the counseling master's program at The University of Texas at Brownsville, which has received full accreditation from the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs; and

WHEREAS, The Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs is a specialized accrediting organization that looks at professional, degree-specific programs within institutions; and

WHEREAS, The accreditation of the community and school counseling programs at The University of Texas at Brownsville puts the school in an elite category of counseling master's programs that includes some of the state's larger institutions with far more resources; and

WHEREAS, The Veterans Affairs Administration has ruled that it would only reimburse counselors who have graduated from such accredited programs, and the nearest accredited program was previously in Corpus Christi; with the accreditation of the master's counseling program at The University of Texas at Brownsville, veterans in the Valley can now be served locally instead of having to travel for mental health services; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Brownsville provides high-quality education for many students, and those who are pursuing a master's degree in counseling can be assured that their degree will be much more in demand; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the faculty, administrators, and staff of the counseling programs at The University of Texas at Brownsville for their dedication and hard work and extend to all congratulations on receiving full accreditation from the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate