SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 928

In Memory of Michael A. Allen

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of McAllen in mourning the loss of Michael A. Allen, who died August 26, 2010, at the age of 72; and

WHEREAS, Michael Allen was born in New Kensington, Pennsylvania, and moved with his family to Port Lavaca when he was a young boy; he attended Saint Anthony Catholic High School and the Oblate Seminary in San Antonio and entered the priesthood; he originally came to McAllen to serve as priest of Sacred Heart Church; and

WHEREAS, After leaving the priesthood and living in Austin, he was named president and chief executive officer of the McAllen Economic Development Corporation, where he worked to strengthen relationships with Mexico, operate the McAllen Foreign Trade Zone as a business, and create and maintain jobs in McAllen; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Allen played a vital role in the city's success and growth, helping to attract hundreds of businesses to the area; he organized the Texas Border Infrastructure Coalition and cofounded the Texas Border Partnership to further the interests of the Rio Grande Valley; and

WHEREAS, He was active in numerous area organizations and received the prestigious Road Hand Award from the Texas Department of Transportation, and he was named the 2006 Border Texan of the Year; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, strength, and wisdom, he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and innumerable friends: now, therefore, be it

innumerable friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd
Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved
family and friends of Michael A. Allen; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Michael A. Allen.

Hinojosa, Lucio, Rodriguez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2011, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate