SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 942

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Austin Jokers Fast Pitch Softball Team, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year; and

WHEREAS, Many years ago, a group of junior high school students came together to play softball in their East Austin neighborhood parks; through the years, Zaragosa and Comal playgrounds became the setting for countless games of pickup softball; and

WHEREAS, As young adults, they formed a men's fast pitch team in the spring of 1961 in the spirit of maintaining healthy competition and activity; they called themselves the Jokers, a team name which accurately described the fun-loving personality and character of its members; and

WHEREAS, Founding members and sports advocates Louis Murillo and Tony Castillo created a team to compete in the ever-popular Pan American League; although the faces and names have changed through the team's 50 years of competition, the team has earned a high level of respect due to its consistent playing ability and has been a staple in Austin area tournaments; Louis Murillo and Tony Castillo have both been inducted into the Rusk Latin American Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Many former Jokers are directly involved with the team and raise funds to help keep the team alive and well; for half a century, the Jokers organization has provided a competitive outlet for its players; its current and former members are proud to provide a constructive environment that encourages teamwork, discipline, and focus; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby congratulate the past and present players of the Austin Jokers Fast Pitch Softball Team on its 50th anniversary and extend to all best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt as} \ {\tt an} \ {\tt expression} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt esteem} \ {\tt from} \ {\tt the} \ {\tt Texas} \ {\tt Senate}.$

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate