SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 952

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Arlington Municipal Airport, which has been named the recipient of the 2011 Reliever Airport of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, Arlington Municipal Airport received this prestigious honor for its consistent support of local economic development and community events while continuing to improve and expand aviation facilities; and

WHEREAS, The airport is home to 22 businesses and has recently opened a new terminal building to support its growth and its enhanced role in the community; it has worked in cooperation with the Texas Department of Transportation on a number of major construction projects, including lighting, approach aids, and air traffic control tower radar; and

WHEREAS, Arlington Municipal Airport has had a substantial financial impact on the community, with on-airport spending and visitors who use general aviation at the airport sustaining nearly 800 full-time jobs and \$93.3 million in total economic output; due to the foresight of its administrators and the 15 months of planning conducted by its exceptional staff in advance of Super Bowl XLV, the airport was able to reopen within 24 hours after an ice storm paralyzed the region during the week of the game, and it remained open throughout the ensuing protracted freezing weather and snowfall; and

WHEREAS, Arlington Municipal Airport plays an important role in the life of the community, and it is truly deserving of recognition for this outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the management and staff of the Arlington Municipal Airport on their commitment to service and extend to them congratulations on the airport's being named the 2011 Reliever Airport of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the airport as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 10, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate