## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 981

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Bridget McKeever of Corpus Christi, who is being installed as the 94th president of the Texas Medical Association Alliance on May 14, 2011; and

Alliance on May 14, 2011; and
WHEREAS, The Texas Medical Association Alliance is the volunteer service organization of the Texas Medical Association's physicians and their spouses; the Texas Medical Association is the largest state medical society in the nation and represents close to 45,000 physician and medical student members; its key objective since 1853 has been to improve the health of Texans; and
WHEREAS, The alliance supports the Texas Medical

WHEREAS, The alliance supports the Texas Medical Association's primary public health programs, including the improvement of immunization rates among Texas children, a bicycle helmet giveaway program, and other local outreach programs aimed at improving health in communities statewide; it is also active in grassroots advocacy for legislation that benefits patients; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. McKeever is a marriage and family therapist and a longtime volunteer in Nueces County, where she has also lent her support in the fields of education and ministry; she is married to Corpus Christi orthopedic surgeon John McKeever, and they have five children; she has also been active in the Nueces County Medical Society Alliance and has served as its president; she has demonstrated a strong commitment to improving public health, and she brings a wealth of experience to her new position; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby congratulate Bridget McKeever on her installation as president of the Texas Medical Association Alliance and commend her for her many years of volunteer work; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate