SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 986

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Amadeo Saenz, Jr., who is retiring as executive director of the Texas Department of Transportation after more than three decades of exemplary service; and

WHEREAS, An honors graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, Amadeo Saenz, Jr., joined the Texas Department of Transportation in 1978 as an engineering laboratory assistant; he rose through the ranks to hold numerous important positions within the agency, including area engineer and district engineer, before being named executive director in 2007; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Mr. Saenz has been noted for his superior skills and expertise; he was a key developer of the department's North American Free Trade Agreement and hurricane evacuation route construction programs; and

WHEREAS, Talented and resourceful, he has handled his many responsibilities with exceptional efficiency and dedication; he is active in professional organizations, and he has been responsible for the department's implementation of such programs as the Texas Mobility Fund and the Colonia Bond Program; and

WHEREAS, An exceptional public servant, Mr. Saenz is respected and admired by his colleagues, and his presence at the Texas Department of Transportation will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Amadeo Saenz, Jr., on his service to the people of Texas as executive director of the Texas Department

S.R. No. 986

of Transportation and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

		_ = = = = =
Birdwell	Harris	Seliger
Carona	Hegar	Shapiro
Davis	Hinojosa	Uresti
Deuell	Huffman	Van de Putte
Duncan	Jackson	Watson
Ellis	Nelson	Wentworth
Eltife	Nichols	West
Estes	Ogden	Whitmire
Fraser	Patrick	Williams
Gallegos	Rodriguez	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Lucio