SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 988

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Mountain View College Lions men's basketball team, which recently won the 2011 National Junior College Athletic Association Division III national championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Lions captured the championship by defeating the Rochester Community and Technical College Yellowjackets by a score of 72-64 at the national tournament in Loch Sheldrake, New York; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the season; team members Marcus Price, Stephen Manago, Jr., Gary Talton, Jhordan Mason, Elisawa Baker, Simeon Brinkley, Ashley J. Crayton, Darnell Taylor, Bryan Rollins, Horace Hicks, Josh Harris, Jeremiah Ford, and Patrick Howard can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach LeRoi Phillips and assistant coaches Belvis Noland and Frederick Washington, and with the steadfast support of athletic director Reginald Osborne and Mountain View College President Felix A. Zamora, the Lions have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Mountain View College and the people of North Texas are proud of the Lions for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the Mountain View College Lions men's basketball team on its successful season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the 2011 National Junior College Athletic Association Division III national championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate