## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1008

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Deputy K. C. Simpson and Deputy Jerry S. "Steven" White of the Potter County Sheriff's Office, who have been selected to receive the 2010 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and

WHEREAS, On the night of August 3, 2010, the Potter County Sheriff's Office responded to an emergency call following the attempted armed abduction of a 34-year-old woman at a gas station; and

WHEREAS, After the failed abduction, the armed perpetrator traveled to another gas station, attempted an abduction of a young girl, and shot and killed the girl's grandmother following a struggle; and

WHEREAS, The subject then abducted another girl, and Deputy Simpson spotted his truck on the county's back roads and pursued his vehicle; Deputy White arrived in time to assist Deputy Simpson by pulling in front of the truck to block it; and

WHEREAS, Gunfire was exchanged, and Deputy Simpson and Deputy White were able to put an end to the subject's crime spree; the abducted girl was safe, and due to the courage and determination of these two deputies, no other Potter County residents could be threatened by this assailant; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Deputies K. C. Simpson and Jerry S. White on their bravery and tenacity and extend congratulations to them on earning the 2010 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and, be it further

Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the

above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate