SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1009

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas on the special occasion of its 25th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, The concept for the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas began in 1986 when several notable women came together to discuss the need for a statewide organization to address the specific needs of Hispanic women; and

WHEREAS, A steering committee was formed of 10 women from different geographic areas across the state who would poll their respective regions and meet in a statewide setting; a conference was held in Dallas in 1987 with 200 women from diverse backgrounds and occupations, who made a commitment to remain united and focus attention on common issues; that commitment remains at the forefront of the organization's efforts today; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas work to cultivate the social, cultural, legal, and educational interests of Hispanic women, and they have supported and sponsored such events as the Women's Right to Vote Celebration, Hispanic Summit and Emerging Leaders Conference, and other educational, mentoring, and intergenerational programs; and

WHEREAS, The Hispanic Women's Network of Texas now has chapters in Austin, Corpus Christi, Dallas, Denton, Fort Worth, Houston, Laredo, the Rio Grande Valley, and San Antonio; members strive to celebrate and foster the positive image and values of the Hispanic culture; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 1009

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend members of the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas for their continuing commitment, support, and recognition of the exceptional contributions of Hispanic women to their communities and this state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the creation of the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas.

Van de Putte, Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate