SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1024

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Travis County Senior Deputy Sheriff Derrick R. Taylor, who has been selected for the 2010 Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Public Service from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer

WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education awards are presented to individuals who exceed normal expectations of job performance; Senior Deputy Taylor has served as a jailer for more than 19 years and as a peace officer with the Travis County Sheriff's Office for 12 years; and

WHEREAS, He facilitates presentations focused on youth behavior, including the programs, "Consequences," which informs at-risk youths about the positive and negative effects of the choices they make, and "Shattered Dreams," which shows students the impact of drinking and driving; as an advisor for Explorer Post 1099, Deputy Taylor gives guidance to young people about careers in law enforcement and community service, and each year, he arranges boat rides at Mansfield Dam for students who attend the Texas School for the Deaf; and

the Texas School for the Deaf; and
WHEREAS, Senior Deputy Sheriff Derrick Taylor is truly an
excellent example of the fine officers who protect and serve the
citizens of Travis County, and he is an inspiration to all who
know him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Senior Deputy Derrick Taylor of the Travis County Sheriff's Office for his outstanding service to his community and extend to him congratulations on receiving the 2010 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Public Service; and, be it further

Service; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate