## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1029

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the finalists and winners of the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards; and

WHEREAS, Five of this year's finalists are from Senate District 19, and two of them were chosen as overall winners in their categories; and

WHEREAS, James Butler of Uvalde High School was a secondary-school finalist in the Rising Star category, which honors outstanding teachers who have less than 10 years of classroom experience; Frank M. Tejeda Middle School in San Antonio and Irene Cardwell Elementary School in Del Rio were finalists in the Fit Campus Award category in recognition of their commitment to improving the health and fitness of their students; and

WHEREAS, Yolanda Fernandez of Del Rio High School was named the secondary-school winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional teachers who have more than 20 years of experience in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, The Harlandale Independent School District, under the leadership of superintendent Robert Jaklich, won the District Award for large districts; the district has overcome a lack of funding and other problems to see 18 of its 19 schools listed as either recognized or exemplary, and as a result of its turnaround has risen to recognized status and become one of the best school districts in the state; and

WHEREAS, The H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program is the largest monetary recognition awards program for educators in Texas and one of the largest in the nation; H-E-B began this prestigious awards program in 2002 in cooperation with the Texas Association of School Administrators to support public education, to spotlight best practices, and to celebrate the work of Texas educators; and

WHEREAS, Winners and finalists chosen for this year's awards have demonstrated exceptional commitment to improving student achievement, developing innovative programs, increasing parental involvement, and creating opportunities for professional development; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby recognize all the exemplary educators and schools chosen as winners and finalists in the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program, commend them on their commitment to promoting achievement, and extend to them congratulations on their outstanding success; and, be it further

S.R. No. 1029

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate