## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1036

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to recognize the Texas Legislative Internship Program on its 21 years of service to the young people of our state; and

WHEREAS, The 82nd legislative session marks the 20th anniversary of the first class of Texas Legislative Internship Program participants; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1990, the Texas Legislative Internship Program provides an opportunity for young, civic-minded students to work as interns in the Texas Legislature, in state agencies, and in public policy organizations; and

WHEREAS, Students receive academic credit hours for participating in the program, which combines academic study and research with supervised practical training; an internship lasts for one academic semester and allows students to experience the political process firsthand; and

WHEREAS, Senator Rodney Ellis serves as an advisor to the interns, and his office assists with coordinating the on-site activities; students interested in the governmental process and in the type of humanitarian service exemplified by the late Congressman Mickey Leland are encouraged to apply for the program; and

Mickey Leland are encouraged to apply for the program; and WHEREAS, The experiences of the interns often serve as a springboard for public-service careers on the federal, state, and local levels of government, as well as for professional service in the private sector; and

WHEREAS, Three former Texas Legislative Internship Program participants--Ana Hernandez Luna, Ron Reynolds, and Armando Walle--now serve in the Texas House of Representatives; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the Texas Legislative Internship Program and extend congratulations to all who have contributed to its success and to the many students who have served as participants; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this program.

Ellis

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 20, 2011.

## Secretary of the Senate