SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1057

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Pastor Suzette T. Caldwell, who has been named the 2010 Author of the Year by Destiny Image Publishing for her book, Praying to Change Your Life; and

WHEREAS, Suzette T. Caldwell is the associate pastor of Windsor Village United Methodist Church in Houston and serves alongside her husband, Senior Pastor Kirbyjon H. Caldwell; and

WHEREAS, She is the board chair and president of The Prayer Institute, a nonprofit community outreach organization that is committed to practicing prayer and teaching people how to pray more effectively; under her leadership, The Prayer Institute has provided prayer training to Christian organizations and has participated in local and national prayer events; and

WHEREAS, Using the Lord's Prayer as her model, she teaches a method of prayer that can transform the role of prayer in people's lives and strengthen their faith; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Suzette graduated from the University of Houston with a bachelor of science degree in industrial engineering in 1986, and she has worked as an environmental engineer in the public and private sectors for more than 14 years; she also owned TC Consulting Group, Incorporated, an environmental consulting company; and

WHEREAS, A devout spiritual leader, dedicated teacher, and successful entrepreneur, Suzette Caldwell has touched the lives of many Christians around the world, and she has received numerous awards for her professional and community service; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 1057

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Pastor Suzette T. Caldwell for her many accomplishments and extend to her congratulations on receiving the 2010 Author of the Year award from Destiny Image Publishing; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Pastor Suzette Caldwell as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 21, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate