## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1082

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program and the recipients of the 2011 Excellence in Education Awards; and

WHEREAS, Created in 2002, the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards were established to honor outstanding public school professionals and to thank them for their dedication and commitment; and

WHEREAS, The awards honor one elementary school teacher and one high school teacher in each of three categories, based on length of service; they also honor one elementary school principal and one high school principal as well as one large and one small school district; in honor of the 10th annual awards, a new award category has been introduced; this year, 10 campuses are being recognized with the H-E-B Fit Campus Award; and

WHEREAS, H-E-B seeks to pay tribute to those educators and administrators who go the extra mile each and every day to serve their students and their communities and who inspire others to do the same; and

WHEREAS, This year, Lindsay Richard won the Rising Star Award for teachers of elementary school, and Dr. Nghia Le won the Rising Star Award for teachers of secondary school; Jimmie Lynn Walker won the Leadership Award for elementary school teachers, and Rachelle Grace won the Leadership Award for secondary school teachers; Richard Landmann won the Lifetime Achievement Award for elementary school teachers, and Yolanda Fernandez won the Lifetime Achievement Award for secondary school teachers; and

WHEREAS, Galen Hoffstadt won the elementary school Principal Award, and David Gonzalez won the secondary school Principal Award; the School District Award for small districts was won by Splendora Independent School District, and Harlandale Independent School District won the School District Award for large districts; and

WHEREAS, The Excellence in Education Awards are designed to recognize educators who demonstrate exceptional commitment to student achievement by developing innovative programs, by bringing about increased parental and community involvement, or by creating professional development opportunities; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding Texas educators are building the future of Texas by educating our next generation of leaders, and they are truly worthy of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 1082

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2011 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards and extend to all best wishes for the future; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of these dedicated educators as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte, Hinojosa, Lucio, Ogden Uresti, Whitmire, Williams

Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
nember, rexas senace	Hember, Texas senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member,	Texas Senate
	President of the Senate
	I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 21, 2011.
	Secretary of the Senate