SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1134

In Memory of Glennis Waltz Anderson

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Glennis "Gee" Waltz Anderson, who died September 27, 2010, in Corpus Christi, at the age of 87; and

September 27, 2010, in Corpus Christi, at the age of 87; and WHEREAS, She was born July 20, 1923, in Denison, Texas, to Frank Hugo Waltz and Mildred Laughlin Waltz; she graduated from Texas Tech University, where she was a cheerleader and later a teacher; she was married to Lieutenant James Wilburn Anderson for 48 years, until his death in 1993; and

WHEREAS, She worked as a technical illustrator for North American Aviation Company during World War II and later became the first woman draftsman for the Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad and the City of Lubbock; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Anderson was involved in numerous organizations over the years, including the Corpus Christi Women's Society, the Corpus Christi Water Color Society, Delta Delta Delta Alumnae, and the Monday Forum; she was a longtime member of First United Methodist Church and served on the Statue of Christ committee; she used her talent and creativity in many ways, and she designed and supervised the stitching of the kneelers for Alamo Heights Methodist Church in San Antonio and First United Methodist Church in Canyon Lake; and

WHEREAS, A devoted mother and grandmother, Gee Anderson was a woman of great warmth, grace, and beauty, and she enriched the lives of all who knew her; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Glennis Waltz Anderson; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Glennis Waltz Anderson.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 23, 2011, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate