## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1198

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the First United Methodist Church of Palestine, Texas, on the grand occasion of its 175th anniversary, which is being celebrated on September 11, 2011; and

WHEREAS, The First United Methodist Church of Palestine has its beginnings in the arrival of a small group of Methodist missionaries in 1836 at Fort Sam Houston in what is now Anderson County; in 1840, they moved to the home of Roland Box in what is now Palestine; and

WHEREAS, In 1846, Anderson County was created, and Palestine was named the county seat; in 1850, a frame church, Bascom Chapel, was erected in Palestine by the Methodist Society; the Methodist East Texas Conference held its first session in the chapel; and

WHEREAS, In 1884, after 34 years of using Bascom Chapel, the Methodists built a new church named Centenary Church, and in 1910, construction began on the current church building on South Magnolia; a formal dedication of the First United Methodist Church of Palestine was held on September 3, 1911; and

WHEREAS, The 100th year of Methodism in Anderson County was celebrated in 1936, and improvements that followed include the addition of the Carroll Building and the Fellowship Hall; on September 11, the church will celebrate 175 years of Methodism in Palestine and Anderson County and the 100th anniversary of its sanctuary; and

WHEREAS, The observance of the church's 175th anniversary is an opportunity to celebrate its contributions to area citizens and the support and inspiration it provides the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and members of the First United Methodist Church of Palestine on the joyous occasion of its 175th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 25, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate