SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1229

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Denton County Transportation Authority on the grand occasion of the completion of its A-Train and the first phase of its service plan for passenger rail; and

WHEREAS, The A-Train, when it opens in June, will provide 21-mile regional rail service from Denton to Carrollton and serve Denton, Lewisville, and Highland Village with five rail stations; it connects to the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Green Line in Carrollton, which gives passengers access to downtown Dallas and other destinations throughout the North Texas region; and

WHEREAS, The Denton County Transportation Authority was created by House Bill 3323 and signed into law in 2001; in 2002, the voters of Denton County approved the authority and its service plan, which included bus service, a university shuttle system, and a regional passenger rail system; and

WHEREAS, The authority's mission is to be a leader in advancing public transportation alternatives and to remain committed to providing safe, customer-focused, and efficient mobility solutions for Denton County; and

WHEREAS, The authority has benefited immensely from the vision and commitment of board chairman Charles Emery, who has advocated tirelessly for public transportation and mobility improvements to meet the growing transportation demands in North Texas; the Denton County Transportation Authority has become an integral partner in implementing a seamless regional passenger rail plan for the Dallas-Fort Worth area due to his leadership and the dedication of the entire membership of the board and its staff; now, therefore, be it

staff; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd
Legislature, hereby commend the Denton County Transportation
Authority on its completion and public launch of the A-Train and
extend best wishes to all associated with this project; and, be
it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared to commemorate this special occasion.

Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate