## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1265

WHEREAS, It is a pleasure for the Texas Senate to honor a beloved and respected longtime staff member, Reta Cooke, by naming her a 2011 legislative recipient of the Betty King Public Service Award; and

WHEREAS, The Executive Assistant in the office of Senator Tommy Williams, Reta is known for handling her multifaceted duties with enthusiasm, dedication, and efficiency, and she is cherished by legislators and by her colleagues for treating all who walk the Capitol halls with unfailing courtesy, warmth, and graciousness; and

WHEREAS, After working in the House of Representatives for 19 years, Reta joined the Senate as part of Senator Williams's staff in January of 2003 and has served with distinction in his office for over eight years; as the senator's Executive Assistant, she holds a position that entails a wide range of responsibilities and puts her in daily contact with the public; and

WHEREAS, Talented and resourceful, she has a well-established reputation for carrying out her duties in a flawless manner; she performs highly responsible administrative work and is known for using her initiative to handle the complex work in the office and for her reliable judgment; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary Senate employee, Reta is noted for her poise, her cheerful spirit, and her ready smile, and her ability to maintain composure, even in the midst of chaos, endears her to all who know and work with her; and

1

## S.R. No. 1265

WHEREAS, Reta has now served the state for 27 years and four months; she is a valuable team leader who is highly respected for her loyalty, integrity, and professionalism, and she is most deserving of her selection for the Betty King Public Service Award; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend sincere appreciation to Reta Cooke for her commendable service to the Texas Senate and congratulations to her on earning a 2011 Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Eltife

Birdwell Carona Davis Deuell Duncan Ellis Estes Fraser Gallegos Harris Hegar Hinojosa Huffman Jackson Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden Patrick Rodriguez Seliger Shapiro Uresti Van de Putte Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate