SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1266

WHEREAS, It is a pleasure for the Texas Senate to pay tribute to a cherished and highly valued longtime staff member, Pat Kelly, by naming her a 2011 legislative recipient of the Betty King Public Service Award; and

WHEREAS, The Deputy Chief of Staff in the office of Senator Jeff Wentworth, Pat is widely regarded for her managerial efficiency and the dedication with which she approaches her tasks, no matter the challenges they entail; and

whereas, Pat has loyally served the Senate for eight years and 11 months; she became a member of the Senate staff in 1996 and worked in the Human Resources office; she joined the staff of Senator Zaffirini in 1997, where she served until 2000; Pat joined Senator Wentworth's office in November of 2005, and as the senator's Deputy Chief of Staff, she holds a position that involves multiple responsibilities, all of which she faces with enthusiasm and handles with proficiency; and

WHEREAS, Respected and well liked by legislators and her co-workers, she plays an important role in helping to meet the needs of constituents and to address their concerns; she brings insight and experience and a thorough understanding of policy issues to her position and helps to shepherd bills through the legislative process; along with a staff of legislative aides, she replies to the many questions on the various political issues that are typically directed to a senator's office; and

WHEREAS, A first-rate team leader with superior organizational skills, Pat is a model Senate employee who is noted for her convivial personality and the high standards she

consistently upholds, and she is truly a treasured asset to the Senate staff; and

WHEREAS, Respected and admired for her loyalty and for her commitment to excellence in all of her endeavors, Pat is most deserving of her selection for the Betty King Public Service Award; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend sincere appreciation to Pat Kelly for her valuable service to the Texas Senate and congratulations to her on earning a 2011 Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell	Hegar	Seliger
Carona	Hinojosa	Shapiro
Davis	Huffman	Uresti
Deuell	Jackson	Van de Putte
Duncan	Lucio	Watson
Ellis	Nelson	Wentworth
Estes	Nichols	West
Fraser	Ogden	Whitmire
Gallegos	Patrick	Williams
Harris	Rodriguez	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2011. Secretary of the Senate Member, Texas Senate

Eltife