SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1267

WHEREAS, The men and women who work at the Texas Senate are an exceptionally dedicated and talented group who understand that their service to the institution is both a privilege and a deep responsibility; and

WHEREAS, The Betty King Public Service Award is given each regular legislative session to one legislative and one administrative employee who embodies the spirit of state service exemplified by longtime Secretary of the Senate Betty King; and

WHEREAS, This year, two long-standing members of the Senate family were nominated posthumously for these awards to honor their exceptional contributions over the course of many years; and

WHEREAS, It is a reflection of the spirit of this body that the contributions of these two individuals are still remembered and cherished by Senate members and staff, who have put forward their names to commemorate their legacies of service and loyalty; and

WHEREAS, Jean Moffett Dendy was posthumously nominated for the Legislative Betty King Public Service Award; Jean served the Texas Senate for nearly two decades as a special assistant and administrator for Senator Mike Moncrief, Senator Rodney Ellis, and Senator Wendy Davis; she inspired in all those with whom she worked a spirit of collegiality and mutual respect, and her grace, warmth, and good humor left a lasting impression on everyone she knew; and

WHEREAS, Diana Sue Brown was posthumously nominated for the Administrative Betty King Public Service Award; for 27 years, Susie served the Texas Senate as a messenger, sharing her unique point of view, her love of red hats, her cheerful outlook on life, and her indomitable determination with people throughout the Capitol; and

1

S.R. No. 1267

WHEREAS, Both Jean and Susie became a part of the Senate family, and their service and their contributions are remembered with great warmth and affection; it is truly fitting that the institution they both loved so much honor them for their dedication and for the many contributions they made to the state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the extraordinary service, the life, and the legacy of Jean Moffett Dendy and Diana Sue Brown.

Eltife

Birdwell Carona	Hegar Hinojosa
Davis	Huffman
Deuell	Jackson
Duncan	Lucio
Ellis	Nelson
Estes	Nichols
Fraser	Ogden
Gallegos	Patrick
Harris	Rodriguez

Rodriguez Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

Seliger Shapiro

Uresti

Watson Wentworth

Whitmire

Williams

West

Van de Putte

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate