Wednesday, September 21, 2011

10:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with HCR 63, a public hearing of the Joint Committee on Oversight of Higher Education Governance, Excellence, and Transparency was held on Wednesday, September 21, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Judith Zaffirini, Co-Chair


Senator Rodney Ellis

Representative Dan Branch, Co-Chair


Senator Kel Seliger

Representative Dennis Bonnen



Senator John Carona



Representative Joaquín Castro


Senator Brian Birdwell

Senator Robert Duncan


Senator José Rodriguez

Representative Eric Johnson


Senator Jeff Wentworth

Representative Lois Kolkhorst



Representative Jim Pitts



Senator Kirk Watson






Senator Judith Zaffirini and Representative Dan Branch, Co-Chairs, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.


Co-Chair Zaffirini recognized the Senate clerk to call roll. Co-Chair Branch recognized the House clerk to call roll.


The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Kirk Watson and Representative Joaquín Castro.


Co-Chair Zaffirini invited Senate committee members to make opening remarks and to introduce their respective Joint Committee staff members. Accordingly, Senator Carona introduced Jamie McCormick; and Senator Duncan, Meagan Scott.


Co-Chair Zaffirini introduced the Senate Joint Committee staff for the 82nd Ad Interim, namely, Ray Martinez, Committee Director, General Counsel, and Chief of Staff; Mark Kavanaugh, Policy Analyst; and Ashlee Peña, Assistant Committee Clerk. She also introduced the Lieutenant Governor’s staff, John Opperman and Caasi Lamb; and the Governor’s staff, Kate McGrath, Marisha Negovetich, and David Young.


Co-Chair Branch invited the House committee members to provide opening remarks and to introduce their respective Joint Committee staff. Accordingly, Representative Pitts introduced Hunter Thompson; Representative Bonnen, Lauren Sutterfield; Representative Kolkhorst, Chris Steinbach; and Representative Johnson, Juan Ayala.


Co-Chair Branch introduced the House Joint Committee staff for the 82nd Ad Interim, namely, Candice Woodruff, Chief of Staff; Dustin Meador, Committee Clerk; Jordan Hill, Policy Analyst; and interns Mary Beth Burgher and Zac Cobb.


The Co-Chairs made opening remarks.


Senator Watson arrived and introduced Edna Butts.


There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


Co-Chair Zaffirini laid out the proposed Joint Committee rules for consideration. Co-Chair Branch moved their adoption. There being no objection, the motion was adopted by unanimous consent.


Co-Chair Branch called the following persons to provide invited testimony about best practices relating to excellence, transparency, accountability, and efficiency in the governance or administration of public universities:


·         Richard Novak, Senior Vice President for Programs and Research, Association of Governing Boards

·         Hunter Rawlings, PhD, President, Association of American Universities

·         Michael B. Poliakoff, PhD, Policy Director, American Council of Trustees and Alumni

·         Aims McGuiness, PhD, Senior Associate, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems


Co-Chair Zaffirini called the following persons to provide invited testimony about public university governance structures, policy development, and implementation:


·         Fred W. Heldenfels, Chair, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

·         Raymund Paredes, PhD, Commissioner, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board


At 1:57 p.m. Representative Kolkhorst assumed the Co-Chair for Representative Branch.


Co-Chair Zaffirini opened the floor for public testimony.


Names of witnesses who provided public testimony are shown on the attached list. Co-Chair Zaffirini closed public testimony.


There being no further business, at 5:02 p.m. Co-Chair Zaffirini announced that the Committee would stand recessed, subject to the call of the Co-Chairs.




Senator Judith Zaffirini, Co-Chair




Representative Dan Branch, Co-Chair




Ashlee Peña, Clerk 




Dustin Meador, Clerk