The House Committee on Redistricting

82nd Legislature May 18, 2011 11:00 a.m. Agricultural Museum, 1W.14

Pursuant to an announcement from the house floor, on May 17, 2011, and permission to meet while the House is in session, on May 17, 2011, the House Committee on Redistricting met in a formal meeting and was called to order by the chair, Representative Solomons, at 11:06 a.m.

The initial quorum call was answered as follows: Representatives Solomons; Villarreal; Alonzo; Alvarado; Aycock; Branch; Eissler; Geren; Hilderbran; Hunter; Keffer; Madden; Pena; Phillips; Pickett; and Veasey.

A quorum was present.

House Committee on Redistricting

5/18/2011

<u>SB 31</u>

The chair laid out SB 31.

Representative Veasey offered an amendment, PLANS 141, to the measure. The amendment failed by the following record vote:

Ayes:	Representatives Villarreal; Alonzo; Alvarado; Pickett; Veasey (5).
Nays:	Representatives Solomons; Aycock; Branch; Eissler; Geren; Hilderbran; Hunter; Keffer; Madden; Pena; Phillips (11).

Present, Not Voting: None (0).

Absent: Representative Harless (1).

Representative Veasey offered an amendment, PLANS 149, to the measure. The amendment failed by the following record vote:

Ayes:	Representatives Villarreal; Alonzo; Alvarado; Pickett; Veasey (5).	
Nays:	Representatives Solomons; Aycock; Branch; Eissler; Geren; Hilderbran; Hunter; Keffer; Madden; Pena; Phillips (11).	
Present, Not Voting:	None (0).	
Absent:	Representative Harless (1).	
Representative Veasey and Representative Alonzo offered an amendment, PLANS 139, to the measure. The amendment failed by the following record vote:		
Ayes:	Representatives Villarreal; Alonzo; Alvarado; Pickett; Veasey (5).	
Nays:	Representatives Solomons; Aycock; Branch; Eissler; Geren; Hilderbran; Hunter; Keffer; Madden; Pena; Phillips (11).	
Present, Not Voting:	None (0).	

Absent: Representative Harless (1).

House Committee on Redistricting

5/18/2011

Representative Solomons moved that SB 31, without amendments, be reported favorably to the full house with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed.

The motion prevailed by the following record vote:

Ayes:	Representatives Solomons; Aycock; Branch; Eissler; Geren; Hilderbran; Hunter; Madden; Pena; Phillips; Pickett (11).
Nays:	Representatives Villarreal; Alonzo; Alvarado; Veasey (4).
Present, Not Voting:	Representative Keffer (1).
Absent:	Representative Harless (1).

At 12:03 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection, the meeting was adjourned subject to the call of the chair.

Rep. Solomons, Chair

Bonnie Bruce, Clerk