MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 9, 2011 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 9, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Troy Fraser

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair Senator Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair Senator Jane Nelson Senator Robert Nichols Senator Jose Rodriguez Senator Kirk Watson

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 A.M. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Watson moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on May 2, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Jane Nelson and Senator Glenn Hegar.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Robert Duncan to introduce Irvin E. Zeitler, Jr., D.O., nominee to the Texas Medical Board.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Kel Seliger to introduce Julie K. Attebury, nominee to the Texas Medical Board.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Watson to introduce George Willeford, III, M.D. and Stanley S. Wang, M.D., nominees to the Texas Medical Board.

The nominees to the Texas Medical Board made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Hegar moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Texas Medical Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Rodriguez to introduce Cynthia F. Lyons, nominee to the Finance Commission of Texas.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Nichols to introduce Hilliard "Jay" Shands, III, nominee to the Finance Commission of Texas.

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator Steve Ogden introducing William J. White, nominee to the Finance Commission of Texas.

The nominees to the Finance Commission of Texas made opening remarks and answered questions from members of the committee.

Senator Hegar moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Finance Commission of Texas. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 1 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Watson moved that committee vote to approve the non-appearing nominees to the following entities: Assistive and Rehabilitative Services Council, Coastal Water Authority Board of Directors, Real Estate Research Advisory Committee, Rio Grande Regional Water Authority Board of Directors, State Board for Educator Certification, State Board of Dental Examiners, Task Force on Indigent Defense, Texas Board of Licensure for Professional Medical Physicists, Texas Department of Rural Affairs, and Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

There being no further business, at 8:48 A.M. Chairman Deuell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair

Bogan Durr, Clerk