MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 16, 2011 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.028

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 16, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS ABSENT:

MEMBERS PRESENT: Senator Bob Deuell, Chair Senator Troy Fraser Senator Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair Senator Jane Nelson Senator Robert Nichols Senator Jose Rodriguez Senator Kirk Watson

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 A.M. Without a quorum being present, the following business was transacted:

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Brian Birdwell to introduce Harold L. Barnard, nominee to the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Jose Rodriguez to introduce Harold W. Hahn, nominee to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Jeff Wentworth to introduce Sandra Kibby, nominee to the Lower Colorado River Authority.

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator Kevin Eltife introducing Dennis D. Golden, Sr., O.D., nominee to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

The nominees to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board made opening statements and answered questions from members of the committee.

Sandra Kibby, nominee to the Lower Colorado River Authority answered questions from the members of the committee.

Chairman Deuell recognized Senator Robert Nichols to introduce Steve Cronin, nominee to the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors.

Chairman Deuell introduced Michael Cronin, nominee to the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors.

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator Steve Ogden introducing Amanda B. Davis, D. Joe McCleskey, and J. Carol Spillars, nominees to the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors.

Chairman Deuell read written remarks by Senator John Carona, introducing Christina M. Crain, nominee to the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors.

The nominees to the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors made opening statements and answered questions from members of the committee.

Without a quorum being present, all nominees were left pending.

There being no further business, at 9:10 A.M., Chairman Deuell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Pursuant to the adoption of the suspension of Senator Rule 11.10, The Senate Committee on Nominations reconvened at Senator Deuell's desk for the purpose of voting on the nominations to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Lower Colorado River Authority, the Trinity River Authority Board of Directors, and all non-appearing boards at 1:37 P.M.

Senator Jose Rodriguez moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on May 9, 2011; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Jose Rodriguez moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Jose Rodriguez moved that committee vote to approve the nomination of Sandra Kibby to the Lower Colorado River Authority. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Jose Rodriguez moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Trinity River Authority. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Senator Jose Rodriguez moved that committee vote to approve the non-appearing nominees to the following entities: Board of Pilot Commissioners for Galveston County Ports, Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, Coastal Coordination Council, Family and Protective Services Council, Governing Board of the Texas School for the Deaf, Lavaca-Navidad River Authority, Pecos River Compact Commission, State Securities Board, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying, Texas Commission on the Arts, and Texas Farm and Ranch Lands Conservation Council. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

There being no further business, at 1:40 P.M. Senator Deuell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bob Deuell, Chair

Bogan Durr, Clerk