H.R. No. 129
         WHEREAS, Ray M. Bain of Dimmitt is to be commended for his
  longtime business leadership, civic engagement, and philanthropy
  in the Texas Panhandle; and
         WHEREAS, Born in Plainview, Mr. Bain attended West Texas A&M
  University and continued his education at the SW Graduate School of
  Banking; he first worked in banking at the age of 15, as a part-time
  teller, and he embarked on a full-time career in the industry in
  1960, when he accepted a job as a teller and as an assistant
  bookkeeper at Hale County State Bank; and
         WHEREAS, In 1970, Mr. Bain moved to Perryton to assume the
  role of vice president and cashier of the town's First National Bank
  branch, now known as First Bank Southwest; after more than a decade
  in that post, he relocated to Deming, New Mexico, where he spent
  four years as president of Mimbres Valley Bank; and
         WHEREAS, Ray Bain returned to the Texas Panhandle in 1985 to
  become president and CEO of First State Bank; two years later, he
  led an investor group in purchasing First State, which became First
  United Bank in 1994; under the astute guidance of Mr. Bain and his
  sons, R. Mark Bain and Michael L. Bain, First United Bank expanded
  from a single location to 15 locations across the Panhandle and the
  South Plains, while its total assets increased from $42 million to
  approximately $1.2 billion; now retired from the day-to-day
  management of the bank, Mr. Bain continues to chair the board of
  directors; and
         WHEREAS, In addition to guiding the development of First
  United, Mr. Bain has contributed to the banking industry through
  his service on boards and committees for a number of trade
  organizations; for his lifetime of achievement, he has been honored
  with the Distinguished Banker Award from the Panhandle-South Plains
  Bankers Association and the 50-Year Banker Award from the Texas
  Bankers Association; and
         WHEREAS, This esteemed civic leader has further shared his
  time and talents as a trustee for the Perryton Independent School
  District, as a board member and president of the chambers of
  commerce in Perryton, Deming, and Dimmitt, and as a member of the
  Kiwanis and Rotary Clubs, as well as through his involvement with
  the YMCA and Little League; his community service has been
  recognized with Citizen of the Year awards in both Perryton and
  Dimmitt and with the Workhorse of the Year award from the Kiwanis
  Club in Perryton; and
         WHEREAS, A proud alumnus of WTAMU, Mr. Bain has given
  generously to his alma mater, playing an instrumental role in the
  creation of the Bain Athletic Center; he is also responsible for the
  creation of the $1 million First United Bank Endowment, which funds
  scholarships for WTAMU students, and the First United Bank
  Classroom, which is used for computer-based courses; in
  appreciation of his staunch support, WTAMU has conferred on him the
  Pinnacle Award and the Legacy Award and made him a lifetime member
  of the Buffalo Club; and
         WHEREAS, Ray Bain and his wife, Barbara, have shared a
  rewarding marriage of more than 55 years; their fine family
  includes their two sons, their daughter, Nancy Seybert, and many
  treasured grandchildren; and
         WHEREAS, Ray Bain has forged an outstanding career in banking
  while in turn striving to create opportunity for countless fellow
  citizens, and his efforts have won him the lasting respect and
  admiration of all who are privileged to know him; now, therefore, be
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Ray M. Bain for his
  immeasurable contributions to advancing the quality of life on the
  South Plains and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
  success and happiness; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Bain as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 129 was adopted by the House on June
  25, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House