H.R. No. 76

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Kendall County lost an admired civic
leader with the death of Gaylan Lewis Schroeder of Boerne on June 6,
2013, at the age of 73; and

WHEREAS, Elected county judge in 2007, Judge Schroeder made a lasting impact during his six years in office; his tenure saw the establishment of a parks department, the construction of the county's first animal shelter, and the acquisition of new office space for county employees; in addition, Judge Schroeder took pspecial pride in the opening of Joshua Springs Park and Preserve; and

11 WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan was long active in the life of 12 his community; a respected businessman, he founded and operated Kendall County Air and served as a director of Texas Heritage Bank; 13 14 he also helped to carry out many charitable projects through his work with the Boerne Rotary Club; moreover, as a valued member of 15 First Baptist Church and Faith Bible Church, he shared his strong 16 faith with others in visits to nursing homes and hospitals and on 17 mission trips to Haiti; he began each morning by reading the Bible 18 and the writings of Oswald Chambers; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Born in Fort Worth on October 4, 1939, Judge 21 Schroeder graduated from Grand Prairie High School and married his 22 high school sweetheart, the former Cherry Little, in 1959; he 23 worked for an air-conditioning company in California and Kansas 24 before moving to San Antonio in 1968 and settling in Boerne two

1

years later; deeply devoted to his family, he took great pride in
his children, Jimi and Steve, and in his six grandchildren; and

3 WHEREAS, Gaylan Schroeder made an indelible impression on the 4 hearts of all who were privileged to know him, and his contributions 5 to Kendall County will continue to resonate for years to come; now, 6 therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 8 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the memory of Judge Gaylan Lewis Schroeder and extend sincere condolences to 9 10 the members of his family: to his wife, Cherry Schroeder; to his daughter, Jimi Driskill, and her husband, Steve; to his son, Steve 11 12 Schroeder, and his wife, Elena; to his grandchildren, Tyler, Landri, Shiloh, Malachi, Zechariah, and Benaiah; to his brother, 13 14 Bill Schroeder; to his sisters, Roma Kline, Annie Driver, and Katy 15 Schroeder; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further 16

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 19 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Gaylan 20 Lewis Schroeder.

Miller of Comal

H.R. No. 76

2

H.R. No. 76

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer Martinez McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 76

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 76 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on June 24, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House