## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mike Falick retired as vice president of the Spring
- 2 Branch Independent School District Board of Trustees in May 2013,
- 3 drawing to a close a notable tenure with the board that spanned
- 4 nearly a decade; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since joining the board in 2004, Mr. Falick served
- 6 two terms each as president and vice president, and he was the
- 7 legislative liaison for his entire nine years; moreover, he has
- 8 contributed his expertise as liaison for facilities, curriculum,
- 9 technology, administration, and community relations; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan was instrumental in a number of
- 11 initiatives to improve the quality of education for all students,
- 12 including changes to homework policies, state-administered
- 13 testing, and class rank; he also advocated for Spring Branch to
- 14 become the top district for college readiness in Texas, now a
- 15 central pillar of its five-year plan; in addition, he was president
- 16 during the largest successful bond election in the district's
- 17 history, which passed with 60 percent of the vote and has
- 18 facilitated extensive rebuilding and renovation efforts; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through his skill, professionalism, and vision,
- 20 Mike Falick greatly benefited Spring Branch ISD, and his devotion
- 21 to the cause of public education has earned him the admiration and
- 22 gratitude of his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Mike Falick on

H.R. No. 78

- 1 his retirement from the Spring Branch Independent School District
- 2 and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Falick as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Bohac

Η	. R	. N	0.	78

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 78 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House