H.R. No. 113

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The boys' track and field team of Faith Christian
- 2 Academy in El Paso captured the Texas Christian Athletic League 3A
- 3 state championship with a superb performance at the state meet on
- 4 May 3 and 4, 2013, in Bryan; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ably guided by coach Hosea Stredic, the Lions had a
- 6 total score of 148 to best the second-place finisher by a margin of
- 7 42 points and claim their third consecutive state crown; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Gold-medal-winning performances by Paul Balderrama
- 9 in the 1,600- and 3,200-meter runs and by Joseph Cromeens in the 800
- 10 meters aided the Faith Christian Academy triumph; in addition,
- 11 Eddie Ramos won the title in the 200 meters, and he joined with
- 12 Imran Raja, Jesus Ruiz, and Saul Ramos to take first place in the
- 13 1,600-meter relay; the Lions also received valuable contributions
- 14 throughout the season from the other members of the roster:
- 15 Bradnaro Allen, Jireh Valdez, Ulyses Cervantes, Troy Taylor,
- 16 Jassiel Ramos, Brandon Guiterrez, Matthew Adams, Eduardo Arroyo,
- 17 Abraham Alvarado, and Chris Ramos; and
- 18 WHEREAS, By successfully defending their TCAL 3A title, the
- 19 Faith Christian Academy Lions have furthered their school's
- 20 tradition of athletic excellence, and these talented
- 21 student-athletes may indeed take justifiable pride in their
- 22 exceptional accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Faith

H.R. No. 113

- 1 Christian Academy boys' track and field team on winning the TCAL 3A
- 2 state championship and extend to the team's athletes and to coach
- 3 Hosea Stredic sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Marquez

Н	R	$N \cap$	- 1	1	3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 113 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House