H.R. No. 114

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Four students from Coronado High School in El Paso
- 2 won great distinction for themselves and their school by placing
- 3 second at the National Academic Championship in Washington, D.C.,
- 4 on June 2, 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, This championship brought together 52 varsity
- 6 academic teams from across the country to participate in a highly
- 7 competitive quiz featuring questions about all branches of academic
- 8 study as well as current events, popular culture, and music; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Coronado High School fielded two teams at the
- 10 competition, the A-team and the B-team; while the A-team lost a
- 11 close contest in the Sweet 16 round, the B-team defeated two teams
- 12 from New York State and another from New Jersey to advance to the
- 13 final round and take second place; and
- WHEREAS, Coached by Matthew Ballway, the talented members of
- 15 this team include captain Michael Pannell and his teammates Luke
- 16 Minton, Andrew Paton, and Ryan Sharma; together, they set a new
- 17 record for the farthest advance by a B-team in the history of the
- 18 competition; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The exceptional scholastic ability and hard work
- 20 evidenced by these four gifted young men will pay great dividends in
- 21 all their future endeavors, and they may indeed take justifiable
- 22 pride in their achievement at this prestigious national
- 23 competition; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 114

- 1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the High-Q
- 2 B-Team of Coronado High School on taking second place at the
- 3 National Academic Championship and extend to the team's members
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Marquez

TT	ח	TAT C	- 1	7 /
н	ĸ	NO	- 1	14

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 114 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House