H.R. No. 142

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Matthew Clemens has been named valedictorian of the
- 2 Class of 2013 at Dumas High School, and for achieving this
- 3 significant honor, he indeed merits special recognition; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Earning the title of valedictorian requires not only
- 5 intellect and aptitude, but also four years of dedication to the
- 6 highest academic standards; the student who garners this coveted
- 7 distinction must demonstrate a thorough understanding of a wide
- 8 range of subjects, from math and science to language arts and social
- 9 studies, yet the rewards of the countless hours of study and
- 10 preparation are myriad; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In addition to the pride inherent in being
- 12 recognized as the highest achieving student in his class, the
- 13 valedictorian is frequently the recipient of scholarships and
- 14 grants; he also gains the opportunity to address his fellow seniors
- 15 at commencement and to reflect on their shared history as well as on
- 16 their hopes and ambitions for the future; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The son of proud parents David and Karen Clemens,
- 18 Matthew Clemens has earned the respect and admiration of his
- 19 teachers and classmates at Dumas High School, and his exceptional
- 20 scholastic ability, hard work, and commitment to excellence have
- 21 surely opened the way to limitless opportunities for this
- 22 outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Matthew

H.R. No. 142

- 1 Clemens, valedictorian of the Dumas High School Class of 2013, and
- 2 extend sincere best wishes for continued success in all his
- 3 endeavors; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Matthew Clemens as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Price

Η	D	$N \cap$	1/17
$\overline{}$	ĸ	131()	14/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 142 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House