RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In recognition of her skill, professionalism, and 2 enthusiasm, Pamela Brown of the Dallas Independent School District 3 has been named 2013 Librarian of the Year by The Big Read Dallas; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, The Big Read is a program of the National Endowment 6 for the Arts that promotes reading by encouraging residents of an 7 area to read and discuss a single book; in addition, the program 8 stages events, supports book clubs, and sponsors a librarian of the 9 year contest; and

10 WHEREAS, A librarian for the Dallas ISD since 1998, Pamela 11 Brown is currently a media specialist at William Hawley Atwell 12 Middle School Law Academy; she was selected for this prestigious 13 award over 60 other librarians in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, This dynamic professional received more than 300 glowing nominations from students and fellow educators, who took special note of her creative efforts to promote reading, such as dressing up as characters from books and performing raps about books and reading; and

WHEREAS, Pamela Brown's dedication and innovative spirit have greatly benefited the students and readers at her school and in her community, and she may indeed take great pride in their affection and respect, as reflected by this prestigious award; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Pamela Brown 2 for being named 2013 Librarian of the Year by The Big Read Dallas 3 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be 4 it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Brown as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Rose

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer Martinez McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Travis Rodriguez of Bexar Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Sheffield of Belĺ Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Tarrant Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 177 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House